Tsohost Help Centre

Table of Contents

Can you explain how your DNS Cluster works?

Updated Oct 31st, 2017 at 13:07 GMT

The DNS for our main nameservers is clustered across many servers throughout our network.  This means that regardless of which server you are on you will be able to use our main nameservers.  There are some uncommon exceptions to this, however we will let you know if this is the case.

This means that your domain name can only be added to our systems once.  If you cancel your account with us and try to create another one with the same domain name, we may need to delete the DNS zone from our cluster before your new site can be added.  If you think you have encountered this problem, please let us know.

The reason we cluster our DNS zone in this way is so that you can conveniently use our main nameservers; ns1.tsohost.co.uk, ns2.tsohost.co.uk and ns3.tsohost.co.uk and you can be sure your DNS will work for you, to make it easy to get started with us.  It also means your account can be moved between our platforms without you needing to change the nameservers of your domain name.